Scan Essentials Reverse clipping box?

Hi,

I am working with a point cloud (from a Trimble X7) to model driveway entry gates. I would like to remove the temporary chain link gate from the point cloud to better show how the new gate would look. I’m very new to Scan Essentials, but intuitively (for me) I imagine putting a clipping box around the temp gate and activating it, then somehow toggling the function to hide everything inside the box rather than outside the box. I’ll see if I can add a screen shot.

The reverse clipping box is currently not available.

You may preprocess your point cloud before importing the files into Scan Essentials. See Turning Pointclouds setups on/off in Sketchup

Jacques

Thank you. I’m not sure how to remove something like that gate in preprocessing but will look into it. I am using the Trimble X7 with T10 tablet combo. I did see a global elevation cut-off slider adjustment, but it was too drastic—I need to retain the sloping driveway approach as well as at least some of the closest trees.

I find CloudCompare easier to use to clip out sections of the point cloud. After processing the file in Cloudcompare, load it into SketchUp.

Thanks, that’s good to hear. I was researching Cloud Compare, it seems like a great solution.

how did you make out with your chain link issue?