"Routing" a channel around a corner

I’m not a professional SketchUp artist so my terminology may not be quite right, but I’m having trouble “routing” an angled channel around a square object. I’m trying to simulate something like this:

DS1 Plate

I’ve been able to do this on non-adjacent sides, but can’t seem to complete the adjacent sides. In my attached file, I’ve labeled the four sides A, B, C and D for discussion. Side A worked fine by drawing a square on the edge of side B and bisecting it with a line. Then I could push the triangle along side A. When I do the same on side C to “route” side B, you can see how the channel stops. The same happens on side C. I don’t know how to do side D at all. Is this a complex operation or am I missing something?

Angled routes.skp (183.7 KB)

Have you had a look at the Follow Me tool?
Foll3

Is that a Swiss Arca plate? As Box says, that’s a job for the follow me tool, and if you have rounded corners on the square base that makes the path, it will do that too.

You might find it easier to draw a section as a profile for Follow Me and a path with rounded corners.

Then work on the holes and the recess after you have the overall shape.

2 Likes

Wonderful! I haven’t done anything with the follow-me tool yet. Hadn’t discovered a need for it. I do now. Thank you.

Yes it is. The actual model will be offset to move the center point of the arca swiss plate to inline with the lens and unblock the battery compartment on a Canon SX50. With the groove all the way around, I can release the clamp and turn the camera 90 degrees without unscrewing the plate and remounting it. Now that I know about follow me, next I’ll work on rounding the edges.

I will definitely study what you’ve drawn. I see you’ve also guessed the arca swiss plate. I plan to include an offset for my camera to move the arca mounting position 3/4" from the camera’s mounting point. I do need to learn about rounding corners and edges.