Quarter Turn Helix

Hello again,

As usual I have run into an issue which is annoying and confuses me greatly! Anyway, I am drawing up a staircase which has quarter turn helical elements at each end (see the excerpt, from the whole model, I have attached!) but despite using the correct (I think!) heights, angles, radii and central axis for all the curves and the helix (orange) the helix still doesn’t seem to sit exactly in the same place on each tread leading me to believe I have calculated something incorrectly. Unfortunately this is my first time dealing with helical shapes and I am having trouble figuring out what I’ve done wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also I am aware that my description here is quite vague and probably not very easy to follow so if necessary I can try and give more detail!

Thanks
Thomas

forum.skp (744.1 KB)

You might try the parametric 3D shapes plugin from SketchUp Plugins | PluginStore | SketchUcation. That has a range of helical shapes.

Try a Helical Ramp with Sides. Make it narrow - just the width you want for the helical stringer, with 90 deg slope for the sides, 0.25 rotations, and height and number of segments to match what you have in mind.

Thank you for the suggestion, I just downloaded it and had a go but I end up with the same result unfortunately. Also I should have mentioned initially that I used the plugin Curve Maker originally! This leads me to believe that rather than a Sketchup problem, I probably have a problem with my maths and geometry knowledge :open_mouth:

Thanks
Thomas

are you trying to follow your floor plan?

john

Hi, thanks for responding,

I am, roughly yes, I was given the plan as a guide for the staircase though there could be potential for change if it was necessary.

Thanks
Thomas

How about this, made using Helical Ramp with sides?