Problems with Solid Tools --> Subtract

Yes, I’m a newbie (sort of, I think that this is my 3rd time restarting with sketchup, so I have a little experience going back to sometime before 2010). I’ve been using it to model simple stuff I’m building and intermittently try to just draw something just for practice.

This time I’m trying a bolt. I’ve tried it a few times now. Current iteration I’m drawing the hex head, and then using the subtract tool to subtract a cylinder with a cone cut out of the bottom of it to chamfer the edges of the bolt head like a real bolt head is chamfered.

When I do the top it works out mostly OK, but 2 faces (not opposite faces, but with one face separating them) have a bit of an artifact from the subtract. What is it/what caused it/how do I get rid of it? (you can see it in the top curved edge of the selected face in this pic):

2 opposite faces of the head were created half closed and half open. I can close them by drawing a line across them but I cannot get rid of the geometry, you can see the 2 lines on the face in this pic, and if I delete them the face opens up again. Again, what is it/what caused it/how do I get rid of it?

Finally, this is the one that is driving me crazy, this is the reason I’ve re-drawn it a few times, have tried multiple different ways of locating my cylinder/cone for the subtract… I can’t get the subtract to work a second time correctly.