PDF support!

I know users have been griping about this lack of functionality (in Windows) for a while so I’m just trying to get an update pushed through.

I’m just one of the hugely frustrated users that can’t believe that Sketchup/Layout STILL does not support PDF imports and/or drag n drop functionality.

The benefit to be had for easily dropping in vector logos / floor plans (with embedded line weights!) into Layout would allow it to be used as a very effective presentation package. It is designed for that, so why not allow the import of vector PDFs???

Essentially you’re just forcing everyone to go buy ANOTHER page layout program to do what Layout should already be doing. What’s going on here…

4 Likes

I’m not saying it wouldn’t be useful for some users to be able to import PDFs into LayOut or SketchUp but I’ve been using SketchUp since 2003 and LayOut since the first version and can’t think of a single time I wanted to import a PDF into either program.

There have been a few users who have requested that as an option so maybe one day.

1 Like

I agree there are users that may not use PDFs. I still feel that as Layout is specifically designed as a page layout presentation tool, it MUST have PDF functionality. Maybe I do a lot more presentation work than you… :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Like DaveR I have used LO since it’s inception and have not once needed to import a PDF.

I guess it depends on what kind of presentation one is doing, I do a lot of ‘presentation’ work in the form of construction documentation…

1 Like

I can’t help but feel you guys are missing the point here. Page layout software has PDF support and functionality built in as a basic fundamental. Please correct me if I’m wrong, but LAYOUT is a page layout piece of software.

Just to clarify, construction docs, although they do need to read well, are not considered presentation drawings. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

What exactly do you consider presentation drawings?