Object Snap Tracking - does this feature exist in SketchUp?

I am new to SketchUp and have searched on this, but haven’t found an answer. I find Object Snap Tracking in AutoCAD to be incredibly useful, and was wondering if a similar feature exists in SketchUp.

Thanks for you help.

SketchUp has an inference engine which let tools snap to various part of the model. It it always working and not something you can toggle on or off.

http://help.sketchup.com/en/article/70140

Inferencing in SU is a system of dynamic guidelines and object snaps. As Thom Thom said, you can’t turn it off–it’s like gravity in that regard–but some forms of inferencing are rather bashful, so that not only do you not trip over them all the time, they need to be “encouraged” to make an appearance at all, generally by hovering. One of these is called From Point inferencing, whereby you can extend a dynamic guideline from a point along an axis if you hover over the point first (or as I like to think of it, let the mouse sniff the point). In fact, you can even create two perpendicular From Point inferences simultaneously and snap to their intersection.

Here are some examples of From Point inferencing:

-Gully

1 Like

yes, its exist in Sketcup.

Thanks. Can you tell me what the feature is called, and explain how you use it?

Thanks,

Steve

Thanks Gully. This is a little different. In AutoCAD, you can hover over a snap point and then start to move your mouse along an axis. You can then enter a dimension and it will take you directly to that point on the axis. You can draw a perpendicular line from there. It is very quick and easy without using guidelines. That’s the feature that I’m looking for.

Steve

You can simply use a temporary edge to the same effect. Starting from any point, you can easily construct an edge of a specified length along any axis. The new endpoint of that edge is the point you’re looking for. When you’re done with temporary geometry, simply delete it.