Newbie Unable to right click to group?

Hi, sorry I’m new to Sketchup. I’m following the tutorial, and am at the point where I use the selection tool to triple click on an object, and I’m supposed to right click to group and object. However, I’m completely unable to get that menu when I right click. As I am on the free web version, I also don’t see any edit menu, it’s only the edit menu of my web browser… Please help anyone? Using Macbook Air with external mouse, Mac OS Mojave 10.4, even tried trackpad while holding control, still nothing…

There is no Edit menu in the web versions like there is in the Desktop versions.

As for right clicking and bringing up the Context menu, that should work. What browser are you using? What kind of mouse?

Also make sure the cursor is “on” one of the selected entities when you right click. You won’t get the context menu if you right click in empty modelspace, the selection will just deselect.

2 Likes

Chrome browser. Using a Logitech mouse with 4 buttons and a scroll wheel tried them all. but at the very least, the trackpad while holding down control should work, shouldn’t it?

I definitely did make sure the cursor was on one of the selected entities. don’t know why it’s not working.

What version of Chrome?

If you start a new file and right click on Helen does anything pop up?
Screenshot%20-%206_23_2019%20%2C%204_54_24%20PM

says my chrome is up to date, v 75.0.3770.100.
as you can see from the uploaded pic, i get a right click menu that seems not from sketchup.
as for right clicking on Helen, I still don’t get the right menu, I get the same thing. 09%20PM

You’re right. That’s not a SketchUp Context menu.

Hey guys, I solved it by using the Safari Browser. Who would have thought that safari would work better than chrome for this? I had thought of it earlier, but didn’t think it would work… Thanks for your replies and for being kind enough to help!

1 Like