Newbie question - how to manage viewports in Layout?

Hi all,

First-time poster here! I’m an architect with 15+ years of working with AutoCAD, but over the past 4-5 years have had a lot of fun starting to use SU as an SD modeler for clients–I’ll put the existing drawings into CAD, import the plan into SU, extrude up, make a wireframe diagram, then print it out and throw trace over it for hand-drawn sketches. Clients love it :). But I’ve seen enough about SU and LO to make me interested in throwing out CAD and using SU+LO for the whole process.

As I delve into the details (using Michael Brightman’s book and also referring to sources online), I’ve got my first questions.

It seems really cumbersome to “manage” viewports in LO. How can you tell at a glance (a) how many viewports you have on a page; (b) what order they’re stacked in? Is there a way to “turn on” the boundary of a viewport to facilitate grabbing it? How do you maneuver through viewports if you have 2, 3, 4, or more VPs all of the same size, all stacked on top of each other? I hit on the idea (not original I’m sure) of creating different layers for each VP (e.g., “site-exist-heavy”, “plan01-new-light”) and that seems to help (turn them off or on), but it still seems really awkward.

Following on this question: if one was to use this layering scheme, the number of layers quickly adds up, depending on how many VPs you have on a page. Would it make sense to have several different LO files, one for plan views, one for elevation views, and so on, just to keep the # of layers at a manageable number?

Thanks much!!!
Andy

You can’t really tell other than perhaps counting things that would only appear in a single viewport. Well, if you know you only have one VP per layer, you could drag a right to left selection box over them and see how many layers get blue dots next to their names.