New User need help with bedroom layout

I’m new to sketchup and I’m trying to do a layout of my bedroom for some interior design. How do I draw this in Sketchup? I’m having trouble with reproducing the bottom left corner entryway because of the diagonals.

Hi,

Draw this with two separate rectangles, and make a Group for each one… so that they don’t stick to one another.

Then Rotate, and Move the smaller one into position.

The Tape Measure tool can be used for setting in Guidelines, such as a horizontal guide line that marks the top intersection point of the smaller rectangle.

Once positioning is correct, you can Explode the two shapes, and delete all of the inside overlapping line work…

OR, you can Group what you’ve just done, and use it as a tracing template to redraw the entire floor plan.

Tricky layout work (which this job really isn’t) is often aided by drawing in some underlying shapes who’s sole purpose is to support a second drawing which is done on top. SketchUp will see the intersecting lines of the template drawing, and use those positions as snap points for what’s happening with the top ‘important’ drawing. which I hope make sense.

Another approach is to just rotate everything… Rotate the entire model so that the part you want to work on is aligned with the default axis directions.

If you’re nervous about messing up something… then it’s time to copy what you have and paste it in somewhere else so you can practice on the copy model with less stress.

As an advanced option, There are ways to rotate the entire Axes system via the axes tool. This is probably the approach many folks would take, but it assumes a little bit of familiarity with SketchUp in general, and I’m not sure how comfortable you are with jumping into the deep end (or middle) of the pool as it were.

1 Like

Thanks for the help.

The original model I made in Onshape which only took me about a minute or so.

I’m trying to replicate it in SketchUp as a learning exercise.