New Materials for IFC Components

Hi all. I’m new to the Sketchup API. I’m using IFC output from sketchup so I’ve been making everything into components. I need to output component material. I’m making a simple plugin that contains some custom Materials (in .skm format distributed with the plugin) and just lets the user quickly assign the custom material to their IFC component from a drop-down list. I’ve been using the attribute visualizer to learn about and see the component details. I can get the material to be assigned to the component (I assume that will also set it to the instance?) but can’t get the material to show up visually. The material seems to be loaded correctly via api but shows up as “Material not in model” in _material_error (as seen in attribute visualizer plugin). After I’ve made the materials.load call in the code, I can manually type the “My Special Material” in the component dynamic attributes and it will be correctly applied. I’m sure it’s something basic I missed. I did look at this long discussion https://forums.sketchup.com/t/components-attributes-for-ifc/201079/19 but it seemed to do mostly with custom attributes and not a standard one like material. I found a sample that assigns a simple color as component material but it’s not quite working with a new material. Thanks for any help.

#works
#setComponentsMaterial(selectedEntities, 'red')
#doesn't work
setComponentsMaterial(selectedEntities, 'My Special Material')

def setComponentsMaterial(selectedEntities, materialName)
	#pull the material if not already in the model
	if materialName != 'red'
		newMaterial = load_material(materialName)
	end

#save the values to the components
	puts "saving material to components"
	if selectedEntities.length > 0
		selectedEntities.each do |selectedEntity|
			selectedEntity_def = selectedEntity.definition
			selectedEntity_def.set_attribute('dynamic_attributes','material', materialName)