New Macbook M2?

Hi - has anybody tried any of the new M2’s yet - either MacBook Air or Pro?

My daughter could do with a new laptop for school and I thought I’d give her my MacBook Air, 2020 M1, if the M2 was a noticeable performance upgrade for me to buy for myself.

I don’t work on anything too intense or heavy with Sketchup so far, but that’s because in my day job I work in AutoCAD on Windows for an architecture practice. However, I’m looking to freelance with Sketchup and Enscape, after being a casual/hobbyist user of those in my own spare time. I’ll be mainly just drawing one off residences at a time and occasionally AutoCAD LT for Mac when required. I’m fairly new to rendering and have been playing with Enscape on my M1, with no performance problems so far.

TIA

Very curious about that too… I’m running it already on Mac Studio M1 max, it’s very fast on this. I’m rendering with Podium, which is also amazingly fast on the Studio M1 max. I would like to have a second machine just for rendering, considering the Macbook Air M2. But as far as I can see M2 is not mentioned in the Trimble hardware advice, only the M1 is.

You’ll be fine, they are both the same architecture of chip.
Apple branded a commonly used type of Chip architeciture (ARM) as M1.

Programs have to be built for ARM on Mac rather than X64, which was the architecure they used before.
Prorgrams had to be rebuilt and rewired in order to work with this instruction set and alongside this the proprietory GPU that is inside of it.

For most software, once that has been done, programs should work fine moving forwards - unless Apple change other things in the OS.

Right now they have
M1
M1 Max
M1 Ultra

And moving fowards they will have
M2
M2 Max
M2 Ultra

So if you are buying a newer machine, each tier will be a little more powerful than the tier from the generation before.

Thank you for your help Elmtec-Adam!
In that case I will without worries add an M2 to the team :slight_smile:

No problem