Need help with making a sphere and having my fence along the green axis

Hello all,
I’m brand new to SketchUp so as you can imagine I’ve encountered a few problems. Any help is much appreciated.

1. I’ve attempted to make a sphere by following a few tutorials but have had no success. The majority of them tell you to make two circles, use the follow me tool and so on. But that’s where I’m stuck already. They tell you to make one of the circles on the blue axis. For some reason I can’t seem to even draw on the blue axis. Only on a flat surface such as the ground. Very beginner problem there but any help is much appreciated.

2. I tried importing a fence from the 3D Warehouse, everything was going fine until I tried placing it on the green axis. I can not seem to rotate the fence in the direction I desire (green axis). I’ll attach a picture below so you can see what I mean more clearly. In case that picture didn’t work, basically the fence goes along the red axis fine but I can’t get it to go along the green. Along the front of my building. I’ve tried using the rotate tool but because the fence isn’t even a millimeter thick it won’t let me select the face I need in order to rotate it the desired direction.

So as you can see both are more or less axis related as I’m new to SketchUp. Thanks in advance for any help.

That IS the blue axis. When you first activate the CircleTool, it shows as a blue circle. This means that the circle’s normal is pointing upward along the blue (Z) axis. (The normal of a face or polygon, is a vector that is perpendicular to the face, and points away from the front of the face. Ie in the direction that the face is facing.)

So when you draw upon an axis, it must be an axial property of the geometry. And the axis of a circle is the line running through it’s center. Ie, it’s normal.