Need guidance to create a site plan from existing pdf

Want to hire someone to help me turn a site plan (.pdf) into a Sketchup drawing as a start to a set of construction plans. Not just import and go but redraw the site plan as an exercise in working with Sketchup pro. I have a years subscription. Based in Maricopa County AZ, USA

I am new to Sketchup (old AutoCAD drafter). It has been 20 years since working in CAD.

Do you have any specific questions to get you started with the exercise? I’m not looking to get hired but there may be many forum members that are willing to get you up and running, incuding myself.
Can you share the site plan (pdf)?

yes…

That’s a good thing to start on. You have options for making Components, like the trees (draw once, then repeat, scale, etc.). Also for making Groups, like the building, the various enclosing boundaries, etc. Nothing too testing there. As @Wo3Dan says, what do you need to know?

1 Like

This is a great way to learn SketchUp! And to help you get started here is a preliminary SketchUp model based on the site plan you posted.

201030B_Site_Plan.skp (12.2 MB)
Looking at this model should help you see how Tags, Scenes and Groups can be used.

And after geo-locating the model you can import terrain images … and a terrain mesh.

You can also export a .KMZ file that you can open in Google Earth.

201030D_Site_Plan.kmz (3.5 KB)

Enjoy.

PM me if you want to talk about this some more.

2 Likes