Modelling a complex Parisian style roof

Good morning/evening.

I have been really struggling to figure out a method to model a rather complex (At least to me) zinc Parisian style roof on a central London property.

I have built a model of the property using scale drawings which I pulled from planning records but I have hit a dead end when it comes to modelling the roof. The geometry is quite complex and Im at a loss as to how to model it.

The records which I pulled from the council don’t include accurate roof drawings as it was changed at some point during the build so I would have to go off it by eye.

Any ideas very much welcome!

I cant seem to post multiple photos so here is the model I have created so far.

I’m struggling to understand the shape of the building from your image.
It should be a rectangle but it looks like a hexagon.

That’s a pretty interesting type of mansard roof!

I’m by no means an expert but on first impression I think I’d model the dormer windows first with what I’d assume is a parapet gutter configuration (although I can’t see a rainwater hopper) as you probably have an idea of sizes from an elevation/section for the windows.

If there is zero information on the different pitches of the roof, I’d guestimate the first angle of the lower part of the roof based on what you can see on the cheek of the dormer. Then do the same for the upper portion of the roof based on what looks right in relation to the lower part.

The standing seems are laid out in a regular grid so you could probably use these as the frame working out from the dormers to then put faces on.

I’m not sure if I’ve articulated my POV across, I hope it makes some sense. Probably best just to play around with it to try and get something that looks right with the scale and angles before going into more detail.

1 Like

It is indeed a strange shape! Its on a corner of two intersecting streets and Is wider at the back then the front. Its not quite flatiron extreme however.