Making clean intersections of non-solid objects in 2015 SUMake

I’m pretty new to SU, & am having trouble making clean intersections. I’m intersecting 2 circular tubes to create of equal diameter & wall thickness, perpendicular to one another, like a pipe tee. I make each tube a group before intersecting them, then explode to clean up the internal parts which should not be there. Every time, odd faces & edges appear which cannot be cleaned up without deleting attached faces that are needed. I’m sure there’s an easy solution to this, but I’m at my wit’s end. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

How big are these ‘pipe-tees’ ?
How segmented is the circle defining the pipe ?
SketchUp has an inbuilt tolerance of 1/1000" so it cannot create edges that are shorter, because it assumes the start/end points are coincident.
Thus faces relying on such an edge are not made either.
If this is the case scale up what you are working on - say x100 - then ther intersection works OK.
Delete the unwanted parts and finally scale done x0.01 so it’s back at the right size.
Tiny geometry can exist but you cannot create it initially…

1 Like

The tubes are 1.5" OD, made from 24-segment circles.

TIG is right but there might be something else going on here because you say:

Depending on how the two tubes intersect you might get some edges in one group crossing corresponding edges in the other group by less than 0,0255mm, say equal to or less than 0.001".
By exploding the two groups these edges “snap” to each other slightly distorting the model. And new edges are formed as well, to triangulate the slightly distorted faces.

Scaling up may temporarily help in the scaled up version. But as soon as you scale down to actual size you still get these extra diagonal edges in slightly distorted faces.

Take extra care in positioning the tubes correct so facets around both tubes match.

1 Like