LayOut (and SkUp) vs Bluebeam

How should SketchUp and LayOut users regard Bluebeam (the “super”-pdf-software) - as a SkUp-,LayOut-killer or as a usable extra tool, primarily for 2D-drawing.

Seems like Bb has lot of symbols and templates to create 2D-drawings(pdf) easy and quick, but so has LayOut, including export to pdf. I am not very experienced in neither Bb or LayOut. It would be interesting to hear what people who has used both software has to say about a comparison/work flow integration here.

Just a couple of questions. How do you get a SketchUp model to Bluebeam? What gymnastics do you have to do when the SketchUp model gets modified to update the document?

I suppose the “gymnastics” could be to import the SketchUp model into a LayOut 2D-document and then export it from LayOut to pdf. When the SketchUp model is changed I think there is an “update” function in LayOut, after which it is just to export to pdf again.

But my real question here is: As SketchUp and LayOut users - do we really need Bluebeam at all, does it add anything usable to our work flow?

Yes there is. If you do it correctly, the update is automatic.

I just see it adding another step, more complexity, and another place to introduce errors.

1 Like

This sounds similar to me to sending SU or Layout output to something like Photoshop to enhance the image in some way. If there are pdf effects or edits you need that SU and LO don’t provide, then why not? But I see it as post-processing, not clearly part of the model-building workflow.

The reason why I started this topic is the fact that Bluebeam since a year seems to explode on the market, as far as building, architecture and MEP is concerned. As an architect, I am a bit disturbed if I will have to install, learn and update one more software, that to me just seems to do LayOut’s job.