JPG/2D Image to Lines

I feel I need to explain more than I probably need because I am fairly new to Sketchup and CNC, sort of. I have an 8’ x 4’ Barracuda CNC router and it’s primarily been used with DeskEngrave for text on signs. I have recently been using it with the PhlatBoyz extension to cut small things like knobs and dust shoes of my own design and it works great. I design, set the tool paths and generate G code right from Sketchup.

I have seen some answers for this that were date 2014 so I am hoping that there is a better option out there. Note: I have a full Adobe Suite (Illustrator, Photoshop, etc), just incase that is the answer.

Finally, my question. I want to take a 2D, jpg image and import it into Sketchup and somehow copy/trace that image so that it can be place onto the CNC work surface “safe area” in the extension I use so that I can cut that image on my CNC. I’m not talking about complex carvings with multidimensional edges, just flat images.

I am making signs for my Boy Scout troop and I want to take a black and white image of the BSA logo, move it into Sketchup and trace around it. This can be done, but it is literally that, tracing it by hand using line and arc tool. I’d like to think in this instant gratification world we live in there is a fix or an extension for this. Again, I’m somewhat new so I don’t really know the verbiage for this process.

Thanks in advance.