Importing Materials from 3D library Mac

Hi, I am brand new to SketchUp and work on a Mac. There are amazing YouTube videos that can get you so far, but leave the Mac user at a loss with materials and their importation to what is listed as the color dropdown menu. I found that you can import materials into the open cutlist extension from the 3d warehouse very easily. I would like to take advantage of these pre-made materials by lifting them from the objects in the warehouse to the color dropdown. Thanks for you help

A few things in the Materials Tray in Windows are different to how the same thing works in the Colors palette on Mac. In general you could search for videos and only watch the ones that were recorded on Mac.

But, for what you’re trying to do there is an easier solution:

Collin, thanks so much for the quick reply!

That is great for an individual situation, what I would also like to know is how to save that material in the colors palette. could you show me how that could be done? also perhaps how to delete materials from there as well.

All of this video is worth watching, but around 2:20 he gets into the topic of how to save materials into your own custom collection (which is referred to as a List within the Colors palette):

At one point he shows the Finder location of where the materials are stored. He misses the tilde character in the path, so where he says:

/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2020/SketchUp/Materials

he means:

~/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2020/SketchUp/Materials

Again Colin, thanks so much. Very helpful. This video spoke quite a bit about editing existing materials and working within the interface. All very useful for me and lack of knowledge. Do you know how I can import a material from the SketchUp 3d library to my color palette? I didn’t notice anything that would lead me that way.