Import, then convert .kmz files to .dae?

My workflow:

-I have created flat (X and Y axis), geo-referenced 2D shape-files (.shp) in a program called Pix4D.

-I import these shape-files into Google Earth and give them height (Z axis) during import. They import easily, and land in the exact geo-location I expect them to. They are now basically 3 dimensional obelisks.

-Somehow I need to convert these obelisks into Collada (.dae) files, so that they can be imported into a program (PVSyst) that can import .dae, but not .kmz.

I’m a bit of a beginner at much of this, and could use some help and suggestions.

MUCH APPRECIATED !

-John

I should add that I’ve tried doing a straight import of the .kmz files into Sketchup, and I get the error message: “import failed.”

-John

If I recall rightly a KMZ is really a ZIP file with another suffix.
Inside it is a DAE file inside a ‘models’ or ‘files’ subfolder.
Look in there and see what you have.
Extract the DAE file and any related images etc…
See if those work…

1 Like

I actually did try that, but got the same error message.

As @TIG wrote, a kmz file is actually a zipped archive that can contain multiple files of several types. Of these, SketchUp only knows how to import collada (dae). But Google Earth exports geometry only as Keyhole Markup Language (kml), it does not generate collada. You can unzip the kmz and examine the contents. If there is no dae, only kml, SketchUp is going to fail to import the kmz file and you won’t be able to use SketchUp as a kmz to dae converter for it. In fact, it would be a silly exercise if the dae already exists inside the kmz!