Import of DWG autocad files loses critical detail

I’ve been using Sketchup since 2014 and my number one complaint stays the same. When I receive a DWG drawing from an architect or engineer and import it I lose the text and line weights/color which makes complicated drawings difficult to comprehend.

Almost as bad, layers are not preserved.

I don’t care about most objects but there isn’t a drawing I get without layers, text, or lines indicating details, it makes me want to switch to autocad since that is what the professionals I deal with are using.

Anyone figured out how to handle this? I see other people have complained about it.

Definitely a feature request!!

They are preserved in import. They are not preserved when you Export a 2D screenshot to DWG.

The import only imports objects that have an equivalent in SketchUp. SketchUp doesn’t support text. SketchUp has labels that are not 3D objects like text in AutoCad but screen elements.

hello,

Sketchup is not a dwg reader ! you shouldn’t need text to re-use what’s been drawn.
If you have troubles to read plans without it, there are free dwg viewers such as autodesk trueview that you can leave open on another screen (or half the screen) while working in sketchup.

As Anssi said, layers import just fine, so do blocks (that are converted to components) and even line weights depending on how they’ve been set up in autocad.

If you really need the text to be imported, you can ask your architects or engineers to explode it in autocad before sending you the file, it will convert it to line/polylines or you can even do it yourself in illustrator (or equivalent).

colors are preserved too, as coloured entities, if you turn on" Color by Material". That should be enough to distinguish what’s what in the import.

Are there any ways to get the text and dimensions importing properly? Without having to explode them in AutoCad.

You could try using TIG’s Import DXF Text. It should work with dxf files at least.

1 Like