I'm new to the rendering world and I have some questions

Hello there,

For my internship I have to model and render solar farms.
The modeling part of the job is almost done but I am new to rendering and I’d like to know some things.

For instance, do you have any software recommendations?
I’ve downloaded and am currently using the free trial of V-ray. It gives me decent renderings but I am guessing it can do better if I learn how to use it properly. Any tips on that regard?

I’ve also found, in websites that offer textures and such, these things called HDRIs. If I understood correctly they give the PC all the information of lighting a and such. What I don’t know is what software these are used with. Is it for software like V-Ray or is it other softwares that can use these types of files?

Best regards,
Nicolas Eveno

For V-Ray, you can start from here:

V-Ray has a function called light-gen
That will automatically generate various lighting setups including direct sun and HDRI.

Give that a go - a nice time of day can go a long way to make an exterior rendering look good.

There are a lot of rendering engines on the market that cover different needs, V-Ray is the most known and you can achieve very realistic renders with it, personally I don’t use it, I prefer real time rendering, twinmotion and enscape are the ones I use, with enscape you can achieve great results in few minutes, twinmotion requires a bit more of work but the path tracer feature is a game changer, it is possible to make very realistic images or virtual tours, but you need a powerful gpu with ray tracing hardware and rendering times are higher. There’s another rendering engine I’ve used called Brighter 3D, it’s cheap and you get perpetual upgrades buying the software, recently it has gotten better adding ray tracing by gpu and cpu, you can give it a try as well.

Thank you for your reply!

Your comment made me doubt something else though.