Ideal workflow for creating 3D Model of house with floor plans

I want to create a 3D house model from four separate 2D floor plans (basement, ground floor, upper floor, attic) which I have drawn using SketchUp. All of these floor plans are currently contained in separate SketchUp files. As I am rather new to SketchUp I would like to know how to do this in the most “ideal” and “efficient” way. What would be the steps I have to take one after another? Also, if you have any reference to some tutorial where this is described I would be very happy! Thanks for any tips, hints and advice!

Hi,

I’d take each file and create a component for each floor plan you have.

You’ll be able to name it, and ultimately combine all of them together in a single ‘master’ SketchUp File.

Moving them in-between sketchUp files can happen by copy/pasting them from one file to the other.

Alternatively you could also set up a component collection and import them through the component details menu.

OR,

You could upload the components to the 3D Warehouse, and download them into the other SU file as you need.

1 Like

Hi,

It really depends on what you want to achieve with your model. Are you after some simple 3D views to explore or are you after comprehensive drawings for construction etc.

Before jumping into your project I would recommend following some tutorials on YouTube for these topics:

How Groups and components work.
How layers work.
How the inference system works
The basic toolset, lines and shapes, push pull, move and copy, follow me.
How the material system works.

Once you understand those things you will be able to start modeling your building from simple geometry and asigning them to a simple layer set:

Ground.
Floor.
Walls.
Roof.
Fixtures.
Furniture.

Organising you model well helps with speed. As you can hide the parts of the model you don’t need.

Once you have a model that works you can move on to tutorials about the following:
Section cuts.
Camera positioning.