How to Surface Boat Hull

Hello,

I am new to Sketchup and have created the keel and cross sections of a boat hull from 3-view drawings. I am now trying to figure out the best way to create a skin surface across the hull. Any ideas on how to create these surfaces would be very much appreciated. I enclosed a screen shot of where I am at in the process.
Thanks
Griff

Try Fredo’s plugin Curviloft

You can achieve the same thing by hand as you can using CurviLoft, if you like, using a technique called “hand-stitching.” The idea is to connect corresponding endpoints along the curves of the sections and then subdivide the resulting quadralaterals with a diagonal to form a mesh of triangles. (Occasionally, a quadralateral will happen to be coplanar and no diagonal is needed). Finally, use Soften/Smooth to give the appearance of a smooth, continuous surface. See picture below:

A few pointers:

• Turn on Endpoints so you can see what you’re doing.
  • Try to make the spacing between endpoints (segment size) consistent. Try to line up
    the endpoints on adjacent sections.
  • Consistent, regular endpoint spacing makes for a smooth, regular final surface.
  • Take advantage of symmetry. Work on only half the hull.

-Gully

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the advice. I downloaded curviloft and it looks promising, I will also try some of the advice from Gully and see how things work.
Griff

I use Soap Skin & Bubble for shaping ship hulls
https://extensions.sketchup.com/en/content/soap-skin-bubble

1 Like