How to make a animation showing the steps used to build a house?

So, I’m new to Sketchup animations and stuff, but my professor wants an animation showing a step by step construction of the house I’m making in Sketchup. What I mean by step by step, is that he wants us to have a scene that has the floor plan, then a scene with the walls being built, then so on adding more detail in every scene. What is the easiest way to do this?

Explore layers. Once the various elements of you model are built as components/groups then assign them each to different layers. You can turn visibility of layers on and off in the layers window and these settings will be recorded in the scene info. So hide every layer but the foundation then make a scene, reveal the walls and make another scene and so on. Anamations are the progressive movement between scenes so you can move the camera position between scenes as well. When you are done you can export anamation as a video.

1 Like

I’ve got to ask: What is the subject of the course? If it’s anything other than a course in animation or advanced Sketchup, then I submit that the professor’s insistence on animated, step by step documentation is likely far off topic and should be challenged.

At the most basic level simply take screenshots and then use any animation or presentation to create a Gif/video or manual slideshow (there are lots of free and paid software alternatives packages for this). This is too fast and I should go back and edit it but this animation is just sequential screenshots: - YouTube Yes, it’s not a house but the process is the same.

A little more advanced is using a combination of layer visibility, section cuts and scenes in SketchUp to create a walk-around. You can then export as an image sequence or video file.