How to draw folded sheets depicting roof flashing

Hi I’m a newbie to SketchUp and need help to draw some roof flashings.
It basically is a series of 1mm thick rectangles joined together at different angles.
The virtual metal sheets need to be folded on various axis to create a multi faceted flashing much as a peice of paper would be folded various ways.
Is there a simple method for this anyone can explain or direct me to a tutorial?
The end result needs only to show the shapes and relationships of each piece, the look of the material is not important.

Thanks for your help

First of all, is the material thickness really that important to not be ignored? Folding faces about mutual edges is quite simpel: dragging the cursor along the edge sets the axis of rotation. Or is your question less SketchUp related?

Indeed the thickness is not important. Merely depicting a folded flat sheet is quite sufficient.

Hi,

Maybe there are some, But at the moment, I can’t think of any flashing profiles which I’d draw using a folding technique.

I think the more typical approach would be to draw the profile shape and then extrude it via the push/pull command, or to use the follow me tool and extrude it along a path.

But don’t let me talk you out of, or into, anything. Folding with the rotate tool is a good technique to know and to have mastered, and of course there are many ways to do things, luckily.

Please post up a rough sketch or picture of the profile you have in mind. That will get the ball rolling forward pretty quickly.

Roof Flashing example.pdf (127.7 KB)
Thanks for your reply, attached is an example of what im trying to achieve, The blue part in the middle of the picture.
Craig

If you don’t want to give the flashing any thickness, you could use TIG’s Extrude Edges by Vector which is included in his Extrude Tools set from Sketchucation.

Hi,

Avoiding the thickness issue for the moment… because folding a thick sheet will warp the thickness to varying degrees.