Help on Stairs Design

I’m not really oriented on how to make stairs and I’m pretty new to SketchUp (I’m using 2016) as well.

Here’s the spiral stairs. I know there’s something wrong but I can’t quite point it out.

Georgian Stairs Clearance and Opening

Can you post the SKP file?
From looking at it, the floor has no thickness, the treads are too small and you need a hand-rail. Other than that it looks not too bad.

Here’s the cleaned skp file. I deleted almost all but the most important layers.

Untitled2.skp (317.4 KB)

This is not the actual house, though. I just left the first and second floors and the stairs so I can upload it as fast as I can and it can be DL’d faster.

P.S. Apparently the file size increases if I edit anything, even if it’s deleting elements in the file.

I observe that the treads are not horizontal, there’s a pretty big gap between stairs one could easily step in, and, of course, you need to fix all the reversed faces.

-Gully

Learn to use Model Info > Statistics > Purge Unused…
This removes unwanted dross, and makes the SKP much smaller.

First the good news.

You have made the treads as instances of the same component, so editing one edits all.
This will make correcting things much less traumatic.

Now the bad news.

1. Modeling -
    The treads faces are all reversed - should be off-white NOT the back-face blue-gray - select them and reverse them.
    The top of the tread is not actually level and has an odd ‘bevel’.
    I suggest you reform the whole tread, drawn ‘flat’, and PushPulled to the desired thickness.

2. Safety -
    This depends on your local construction-codes and the type of building etc… but…
    Treads should always overlap with a consistent ‘nosing’ of say 25mm/1" - your current treads leave an ever increasing ‘gap’ that’d be perfect for breaking your ankle !
    Treads have a maximum ‘rise’ - say 180mm/7" ?
    There is also a minimum tread ‘going’ at the thin [post] end - typically 50mm/2".