Heat map for 3d model

Hello,

I am new to sketchup. I want to do a heat map for 3d model. I did this in autocad by meshing the solids/ faces and colouring the mesh. I wonder how can i generate a mesh on the face and then colour them in sketchup ? Is it possible to create mesh in sketchup using ruby api ? Is there any sample ruby code for this.

Thanks.

Yes.You basically create a Ruby script and put it in the plugins folder. In order to properly encapsulate your code from others, you need to follow a basic outline. I use this one (jimhami42_test_file.rb) for my quick and dirty stuff:

#----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
require 'sketchup.rb'
#----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
module JimHami42
  module TestFile
# MAIN BODY -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    class  << self
      def start_test()
#      
# Insert code here      
#
        UI.messagebox('Hello, World!', MB_OK)
      end
    end
# MAIN BODY -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
  file = __FILE__
  unless file_loaded?( file )
    menu = UI.menu("PlugIns").add_item("Test file") { start_test() }
    file_loaded( file )
  end
  end
end

[Thanks to @john_drivenupthewall for correcting the file load part of my code]

As you may already know, both module names need to start with a capital letter.

If you are looking for a 2D display, you can create a unit square face and make it a component. Duplicating this across rows and columns with unique component names will give you a grid. You will need to keep track of the component names and use them to apply the texture (or color).

More simply, you can create the unit faces as you go along and color them as you go. This is probably a lot easier than the above approach.