Guide lines and drilling holes

I’m a noob, and trying to learn.A drawing I’m doing needs holes X" in dia. and centered and in a row.

1. How do I either make the dotted guide lines so I can manually center and line up the holes, or copy and paste all the holes, X amount of inches apart and centered on a “grid”?
  2. How do I make though holes,( Like a drilled hole) I thought I did know how with the push/pull,but on the back side it was the hole pushed out.
  3. Is there a way to say how deep or high you want the push/pull to go? I.E I want say a 1/4" depth, can I type in 1/4" and the the push/pull would adjust?

See the video, here. It shows how to make a linear array of holes without having to make a “grid” of guidelines. You could copy a guideline and make an array of them but that’s unneeded in this case.

You need to tell Push/Pull where to stop. One way is to type the distance–the thickness of the part getting the hole. Another is to inference off the back side. Start the Push/Pull operation and click on an edge at the back.

Yes. You can start the Push/Pull operation and then type the distance. This is the same as Push/Pulling to make the part the required thickness or length.

You should read the Help articles on Push/Pull.

Once you’ve pushed the first hole, you can double click on each success hole and Push/Pull will push the same distance. Or you could change your thinking and reduce the thickness of the part by 1/4 in. Arrange the circles for the holes and Pull the face outside the holes back to thickness.

(Or you push the first hole and copy/array the whole thing rather than clicking on each arrayed circle :wink: )

Yep. That works unless the hole goes all the way through. If it’s a through hole you have to run Intersect Faces to separate the faces over the holes and manually delete them. That’s why my video shows creating the holes in a single face and then extruding it.