Groups & Components

Hello Community

Just a quick question I’m studying a book “ Sketchup to Layout” by Matt Donley and it whole he is discussing getting your model ready for Layout he states that When making your model you can use groups to simplify the model into sections because you can edit edit groups easier but my question is if there not components you can’t really label them

is there a way to get both Use the group section tool and label the parts so ultimately when using the cut list tool your list had the wood and part name in it

Sorry I hope this makes sense

When you create a group it gets the name “Group”. Every group will have the same name so obviously that makes a cut list nearly worthless. You can name groups after they are created by selecting them and changing their name in Entity Info.

If you look at my rework of your model, you’ll see that all the parts are components. There’s no advantage to using groups and in fact, groups will result in more work for you than if you use components.

To what are you referring, exactly?

I like the feature that groups have in that you can copy and edit 1 item and it doesn’t reflect in copy’s ilof the same part… take my legs for example I can make changes to 1 leg and not effect the other legs.

A matter of specific designs. In mine, I run into legs that are at least in pairs and sometimes 4 the same (with likely flips needed for symmetry) far more often than I find ones that are all different. So, at least for me, components are the better choice. But YMMV…

1 Like

I thought I already explained that to you. If you prefer to use groups instead, go for it. That’s the nice thing about SketchUp. You can use groups if you prefer. I’ll stick with components so I don’t need to work so hard.