Should I Change To Working With Groups?

I’m just learning the very basics.

Have made a precise component which I intended to use just like you’d use a piece of steel on the job.

Pick it up, cut it to size. Fasten it in.

But I read that components when you change them that changes the ‘master’ Every time you pick another one it’ll be changed like the one you just changed.

Is that right?

But there’s ‘groups’ which seem to be very similar.

Should I be working with groups rather than components?

You could just make those that are getting modified unique. There are many benefits to using components over groups.

Groups and components are key to modeling efficiently and effectively in Sketchup. Normally, I use components, but I do find thre are times in my workflow that groups are more efficient.

As an example, when I design a wood deck that includes several angles as part of the perimeter, I will create a 1x6 plank and make a component for repetitive straight end runs (using the scale tool to change lengths if necessary), but when I need to “cut” the planks at angles and have different lengths I create an extra long plank (to copy and trim) and make a group of this plank. I therefore find both “geometry containers” useful.

I hope this example is of some help to you.

Ah… use the scale tool…

Thanks.

To clarify, there is no such thing as a master component. All component instances using the same definition are equal.

Regarding groups vs components I usually use components for everything that has an item name/number, e.g. a car, a door or a window. Things that are built on site or purpose built and only exists in one context, e.g. a floor slab or a house as a whole, are groups.