Groups vs Components

I always use the outliner to keep my models organized. Most of my drawings utilize groups rather than components because I feel that if I am going to reuse an item I can then convert it to a component. Having said this, I find that when I am studying SU questions and answers (which I do a lot) components are often recommended in situations where duplicate items are not being used. It seems that components add some features (other than editing one updates all others) that I don’t understand. Can anyone enlighten me by providing areas where components add other things)

I use components for everything and in my modeling I’ve never once found case where it makes more sense to use a group than a component. I’m in the minority though. You can make up your own mind about what to use.

Components end up in the In Model Components library. There is no such library for groups. Components can thus be saved into another library for use in other models later.

There are controls for setting component origin and axes so you can determine the orientation of the component and make it easy to insert exactly where you want it.

Components can be setup to glue to surfaces and to cut openings.

When you edit one instance of a component, all other instances within the model get edited, too. Even if there would be only one instance of the part in the model, making it a component instead of a group means you can leverage this editing feature if you need to make changes. There are several ways I use that to my advantage.

You can quickly and easily exchange components with new ones. Groups are more difficult to exchange.

In my modeling work, even if there is only one of a part such as a table top, there will ultimately be more than one copy when I create a plan document. One copy for the assembled version of the table and another for the exploded view and perhaps others for other views.