Getting shadows right with Face Me components

I am new to Face Me components, and I’m not happy with how the shadows are behaving. If I create the component with “shadow facing sun” the shadow doesn’t always line up well with the model as I orbit about. But if I deselect “facing sun” the shadow lines up better, but becomes a sliver in certain orbits (which not only looks weird, but it doesn’t behave the same as the other objects in the model). Is this just a limitation of Face Me components, or am I missing something?

In the linked model I have two cats sitting on a desk. First cat “faces the sun” and the second does not.

I think you have confused which cat has “Shadows Face Sun” and which cat doesn’t.

Your description does not make it clear which cat is “first” and which is “second”.

The cat on the left in your image, Component #1, was set to “Shadows Face Sun” and the shadow looks more realistic. The cat on the right has “Shadows Face Sun” turned OFF and the shadow can look like a sheet of paper from the wrong angle. Bear in mind that you’re using a 2D image to fake a 3D object. If you want a more realistic cat you’d need a 3D model of one.

Your model was only 618KB, so it was small enough to upload directly to the forum without using Dropbox. Dropbox works of course, but it’s less hassle for those helping you if you upload directly to the forum.

When I said “first” cat, I meant reading model from left to right, so yes, this is the cat that faces the sun. I did try to directly upload the model, but I got an error message saying it was too big (??). At any rate, you seem to be telling me that this is just a limitation of the face me component, correct?

Thanks!

No, I just think you’ve mixed up which component you turned on the “Shadows Face Sun” option for. It was working well for your model. You just need to turn it on for the other cat and it would look good.