File Ownership Data

I’m a SketchUp teacher and I currently have a student who’s skills demonstrated in class is not very good, but he hands in work that is almost flawless. I suspect he is cheating and getting someone else to do the work for him. Is there any data hidden within a SketchUp file to workout who the author of the model is? I can’t prove this student is not doing the work but it would be good if I could work it out from any SketchUp data. Thanks in advance.

Hello. Well, this is an interesting topic. The first things that came to my mind were the File tab from the Model Info menu and the Properties option of the SKP file (if it’s a Windows machine).

But unfortunately, they don’t provide much help and information for reverse-tracking. Maybe other members of the Community will be able to come up with a good workaround. After giving a thought about possible solutions, I would suggest to do the following. Assign all of your students to record their computer screens with an application while they’re doing SketchUp with their computer cameras on so you can be sure it’s them working on the computer, not someone else.

Another workaround - assign that particular student to redo that exact SketchUp assignment in class as a test, with you watching. The thing is, if he really created the original file himself, recreating it is going to be relatively easy for him (I know this from personal experience because of many lost works of several hours). If he made the original, he will know what goes where and how. If he did not create the original, it will be obvious from the first 5 minutes.

Thanks so much Vahe. I didn’t think of the model info details. Good find. I think I may have to resort to testing the student in class to prove it’s his work, or not.

You’re welcome. Let us know how it turns out, please. This was interesting. You don’t come across something like this every day. :slight_smile: