Field of view question

Hi there, i’m a Production Designer, i use Sketchup to make mostly every single design on my work, From basic props sketches to full constructive plans.
I often use the Advanced Camera Tools for previs purposes as well, given that kind of work has to be extremely precise, i have a question that might be stupid but i need to know the answer:
All camera lenses have three different Field of View angles: horizontal, vertical and diagonal. However, Sketchup uses only one of these parameters, which one is it? i haven’t found that info on the documentation.

Thanks!

I recall camera angles in SU are measured vertically and the camera eye is set at the lens rather than the film plane…

john

I haven’t found it written anywhere (but I didn’t look too hard!), but there’s reason to think that it’s vertical. As you make the window wider or taller, the vertical contents are always visible, but the horizontal contents go off the left and right edges.

I did a test though, where I had two horizontal lines above and below the origin, then drew lines at 17.5 degrees, dropped a vertical line down from where they meet, and then used the Position Camera to see what the view was like from there. The two lines were very close to the top and bottom of the window view.

I was just exploring this myself this past week. I drew myself some frustum shapes to confirm the field of view numbers I was finding on the internet.

The SU field of View does appear to be the vertical angle, though looking at my known Match Photos recently, the numbers (lower right corner) are at tad narrower. In the examples below, 12mm on a Nikon DX body is equivalent to 18mm at full frame (still) = 67.38° for the narrow edge and 90° for the long edge. Close, but not exactly.

Horizontally:

…and turned vertically:

I would think camera location is the optical center of the lens, but who knows.

unless they actually changed the ACT code from the original when it was overhauled…