Exploding and ungrouping - changed in LO19/20 from LO18

I’ve recently upgraded to 2019 (I long ago stopped being an early adopter) and have run into the following problem.

My workflow is to produce architectural drawings in 2D in SU, export them to LO, set a scale, set them to Vector, explode and ungroup. I usually have to ungroup, ’send to back’ the colour layer and then ungroup again. I’m then free to tidy everything up, add text, dimensions, line weights etc. It’s something I’ve been doing for several years, works well for me (leaving aside various frustrations with LO which are mostly listed here by others as well).

Since moving to SU19, I find that exploding and ungrouping still leaves lots of lines effectively still grouped, whereas previously pretty much every line would be broken at a join. This is needing me to spend ages with the split tool.

I suspect it is something to do with the way SU is exporting, but I’ve not changed my workflow in any way.

I’ve just tried the same file in SU20 with the same result and in SU18 where it exploded and ungrouped completely as I expected.

Any suggestions - is this normal behaviour or is there a way to change it?

If those groups are nested, the you can turn the issue around.
2018 and earlier, did ungroup too much/deep and 2019+ does it right.

I would check if they are nested or/and somehow protected ( locked ).

HTH

Thanks, but I’m not sure what you mean by nested. There are groups in the SU drawing. I’ve tried exploding these before sending to LO, but it gives the same result. I’m not aware of any lock.

I don’t know if it is the issue.