Dynamic Component Query

Afternoon all. I never really bothered with Dynamic Components at the time when I last used SketchUp in my daily workflow. I figured now that I’m looking to get back to using SU, that it’s worth trying out and so my first DC is to be an internal door with frame and architrave. I’ve a lot of experience making complex door & window families in Revit and I intend to use a similar approach (where possible) with the DC. The door panel’s height and width will be the main driving dimensions, and everything else should adjust with it. There is one thing which has been on my mind that I could do with a bit of confirmation of: in Revit, I could make the 2No. side jamb’s and the header jamb (architrave’s also) out of a single sweep, which is somewhat like a Follow-Me but the path and profile remain fully editable. The path is locked to individual reference planes (like guidelines) and their position (relative to the origin, or anything else in the file) can be controlled by unique parameters. My understand is that we don’t have that functionality in SU so my presumption is, that if I make the frame from a single element, I cannot control the height of the header jamb (above the Z plane) without moving the side jamb’s vertically at the same time (where I would actually want them to stretch/contract instead), therefore its probably not advisable to make the frame out of a single piece of geometry, but 3 individual pieces instead. Does that line of thinking seem correct with how DC’s operate, or have I missed out some functionality with DC’s

Thanks in advance

Hello @Blackfrost ,

Unfortunately, this is not possible in Sketchup as it doesn’t share the same logic as Revit when it comes to parametric object.

In order to do the door frame, you would need to split each part of it as individual extrusion and then stretch them accordingly. What I mean is a frame needs to be done in 5 subgroups :