Dome on top of cylinder

I am trying to put a dome on top of a cylinder.

I draw a vertical (blue axis) line the height I want the “bump”.
I use arc tool that takes both ends and the mid high point to draw an arc.
I close one side of the arc from the base of the centre to the end.
I get a face
I delete the other side of the arc.
I choose the “follow me” tool.
I click on the face.
I choose the circle edge and follow it around and only parts of the arc “follow me”.

Once I am at the end I end up with large pieces of the dome missing and I can look down into the cylinder.

Where have I gone wrong.

I am a total noob and am using the free version of Sketchup.

Click on the circle first. Then activate Follow Me and finally click on the face.

If you are getting a hole in the dome, scale the model up by a factor of 10 or 100 and try again. SketchUp won’t make very short edge segments and without the edge segments, you can’t have faces. Those short segments can exist so you can scale back down after creating the dome. Or use the “Dave Method”. Search the forum for that. Box did a nice animation that shows how it works.

do you mean click on the face or the perimeter of the circle?

I have to click each segment to get the perimeter but as soon as I click the follow me tool the selection goes away anyway.

Sample screen shot of what I am getting.

Select the path (perimeter, if you like) first, get the Follow Me tool, and click on the profile. Yes, the selection appears to go away but that’s not a problem.

You can select the edges of the path with a selection fence dragging it from left to right. You might need to orbit the camera a bit to make it easier to select only the edges you want.

How did you create the cylinder? Why is the perimeter exploded into segments?

Again, work at a larger scale to avoid the missing faces.

In this instance you can select the actual face of the circle rather than the perimeter. But as Dave points out, scale is important.

2 Likes