Do you use other modeling software?

Even though I’m a noob here and don’t know how to do most things a lot of you think are easy, in some of the 3D printing groups people are repeatedly amazed with some of the stuff I’ve designed and quite often get asked “what do you use” and when I say “mostly sketchup” I get a lot of shock and disbelief, especially when I get into remixing existing STLs or some more detailed pieces.

It seems the consensus is “move to Fusion 360, I did it and never looked back.”

I’ve been tinkering with Fusion 360, and I’m finding a few things that I like (the timeline and how you can just move operations around in it), some things are easier (one that stands out is chamfers, and threads which are easy in F360 and I haven’t seen a good way to do them in SU), but most things only work well if you know all the build in features, making it sort of slow and crufty to learn.

So what other 3D modeling/CAD software do you use? Do you consider SU a jumping off point or did you come from somewhere else and settle at SU?

I’ve used Rhino a bit and it’s extremely powerful (supports NURBS and other cools stuff) but has a quite cumbersome UI with bad camera control. I pretty much only use it as a platform for Grasshopper.

I have used Revit a little for architectural projects and it is also really powerful but the UI is pure sh*t. It’s extremely messy with all thinkable unthinkable tools, controls and options exposed all at once. The UI also lacks internal consistency and doesn’t feel like it’s even finished. Not to mention how weakly conceptual hierarchies in the program are conveyed - I understand it better from the API documentation than from the UI.

Never tried Fusion 360 though.