DC Animate RotX issue

I’ve created a component with OnClick attribute animateslow(“RotX”,0,90). Works well, until I rotate my model (e.g. due to geolocation orientation). The component doesn’t rotate around the local X axis anymore, but around the model X axis. If I then rotate the model axis, the components still rotates around the previous global X as if it would remember the original global X axis position.
In the attached model you can see the rotated component that has been rotated around Z, and the adjusted global axes. Now try to Interact.
My expectation regarding the component behaviour was that it uses its local coordinate system. And it actually does regarding to the CS position, but not regarding the CS rotation. I would call this a bug, but then, I’m not an expert :-).
Currently I would appreciate a workaround as I need to adjust my model to the geolocation, which inlcudes rotation.
DynamicComponentIProblem.skp (81.5 KB)

rotation and position is always relative to the parent, wrap the DC with another
wrapper fix.skp (82.0 KB)

1 Like

Thanks a lot! This workaround solves my current problem.
Still, isn’t the model and thus the model coordinate system parent to a 1st level component? And I changed those axes.
Besides, it isn’t logical that components behave according to the parent cs. Should it not alway behave according to its own local coordinate system?
Hereby rotations around Z (doors, windows) aren’t a problem, because models are normally adjusted on the horizontal plane (rotated around Z). But in such case dynamic components rotating around X or Y don’t behave as they should.

Philip is correct. Furthermore this is not a workaround but rather the easiest way.

Think about what happens if you flip a component or scale it or move and rotate it. The easiest to comprehend solution is to insulate all these external transforms from the animation event rotation or movement.