CutList and layout questions

I’m new to SketchUp and for a DIY woodworking project, I’d like to determine how best to layout the lumber and sheetgoods cuts that I’ll need. I downloaded the Cutlist plugin, but can’t find any clear, easy-to-follow guides on using Cutlist. I found this tutorial but find it difficult to follow: http://cherrywoodcustom.me/2011/02/06/cutlist-4-1-for-google-sketchup-8/

More importantly, the author notes the following:
“If you have worked with other cut lists or have laid out hand drawn cut sheets, when you see the final cut sheets created by the program, review to make sure the sheets are optimized for the way you process your sheets. If you wish to make modifications, you can but I am not aware of how that can be done in the program.”

If that’s true, it seems like there isn’t much point in investing the time to learn CutList because I’ll likely end up determining optimal layouts by manually. So can you change the layout that CutList provides?

Speaking of doing this manually, what are the other options?
I know I can cut pieces of paper to represent the sizes I’ll need and move them around on a larger piece of paper that represents sheetgoods or dimensional lumber. I can also do the digital equivalent of this in SketchUp - I started doing this, but it’s pretty time consuming, mostly because I waste time trying to get pieces lined up in the same plane. Is there a way to do this more quickly?

Any other free alternatives?