Creating terrain from site survey

I’m after an advise please on best way for creating a terracing from a site survey. I’m a designer and working on a project which located on top of the hill but when I created terrain from the survey they contours are barely changing and comparing to photos are very flat. Could I maybe import terrain from google map? Never used that option before but maybe it will give more accurate contours. Would be grateful for any advice

In what form is the site survey? How is it presented?

Not from Google Maps, their terms of service don’t allow it. You could use SketchUp’s Geo Location option but I wouldn’t expect the terrain data to be high res. It might give you a general idea of the terrain.

If you got a survey by a surveyor then it’s probably correct. You’ve probably transferred the information to SketchUp improperly. With more information (files ?) about what you got and what you did, someone may be able to help.

I’ve got a DWG file but when I import it into the model it looses the most of the level data. I imported the survey as an image and tries to use sand box. But once the terrain created and I drop the house in place it doesn’t really look how it should . Is there maybe a ways of Sketchup reading the DWG data and creating terrain?

Post the survey if you can. From what you have written, one inference is that you have received a 2D Cad file. Before applying the sanbox from contours tool, you would then have to move the contours up to their proper 3D heights. Or is it a 2D file with spot heights as text entities?

F2621 - T.dwg (111.1 KB)

Would be very grateful for the opinion. I’ve been wrecking my brain over it and running out of time for the model presentation

Looks like it’s a 2D CAD file with spot heights as text. Can you get a 3D .dwg file?