Creating Dynamic Machining for Cabinets

Hello All,

I am new to SketchUp Pro, but my work includes making 3D models for a furniture manufacturer and were transitioning to using SketchUp. I am having trouble making dynamic linear patterns for various machining. I cannot figure out even the standard lineboring for adjustable shelves, let alone the holes for the hinges, and adjustable hanging rods. For starters, I am looking to make 2 columns of 5mm holes that are spaced 32mm apart, with the top hole 150mm from the top of the unit. The first column would be 140mm backset and the second is supposed to be 460mm backset. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike

Are you modeling the parts in 3D or just wanting to create 2D tool paths?

I am modeling the parts in 3D but applying the 2D circles to the faces that need machining. Is that the the way to do this?

Modeling the line bore holes via an elaborate Dynamic Component might be starting at the wrong end of the learning curve. It’s doable, but fiddly and certainly not essential.

For such repetitive work all you need is a reusable Component containing an array of hole cutting subcomponents.

Notice in the attached model the array component insertion point (component axes) has been situated such that it coincides with the corner of the part to be machined.

I’ve added some guides to mark the component axes so you can see the relationship of insertion point and axes origin.

Hole_Cutting_Array.skp (269.0 KB)

Thank you so much for your help and time. I am going to look through your model and try to figure out what you mean. Will post any questions :).

How did you get the holes to stop at the bottom of the panel? And how can I make it scale-able?

The holes don’t stop at the bottom of the panel.
They’re blind holes which stop half way through the panel.

Do you need to make thru holes as well?

Here’s a section view of the model…