Counting solar modules in SketchUp

Hi!!

I use Sketchup (along with the Skelion plugin) extensively for making solar plant layouts (rooftops/groundmounts/carports/you name it). I’m a beginner with Sketchup, but have gotten so much better in just a month of use :smiley:
Now to my problem…
Usually while doing rooftops plants on large roofs (as large as 350’ x 200’ just to give you an idea of size), I divide the roof into smaller sections and label the number of modules in each section.
I am currently making a rooftop plant with more than 7000 modules spread over 3 roofs of very odd sizes and shapes. My concern is that I cannot count the number of modules in a particular section of the roof. The entity info shows me the number of modules in the whole model.

Is there a way that I can get a count of a particular entity in just a selected area in the model?

Thanks!!

How about a Ruby one-liner ?

Select what you need to filter - we’ll keep just the panel components…

Open the Ruby Console and paste this in…
You need to change the ‘defname’ to suit what your panel’s component-definition is actually called…

n="defname";m=Sketchup.active_model;s=m.selection;i=s.length;s.to_a.each{|e|(i-=1;s.remove(e)) unless e.is_a?(Sketchup::ComponentInstance) && e.definition.name==n};puts "#{n} count #{i}";

Press ‘enter’ and the selection is filtered to include just instances of that component definition, the ‘count’ is reported in the Ruby Console, BUT you will also see that now Entity Info reports how many panels are selected…

1 Like

Another option would be to make the module a component and distribute instances in arrays. Use the report tool to give you counts of the modules.

1 Like

@TIG- That worked great!!

@DaveR- Aaaand that worked too!! Skelion is super cool.

I just did a little jig at my desk.

Thank you guys!! :penguin:

Hi there, Really happy with this solution, I am looking for 3 variations on this solution. I tried
n=“defname”;
m=Sketchup.active_model;
s=m.selection;