Code review, beta test and gauge interest for bezier surface plugin

jps_beziersurf.rb (9.6 KB)

Hi,

I am new to Ruby, SketchUp and developing plugins for it and would really appreciate any code review and testing anyone might be willing to do for a plugin I have developed to draw and edit bezier surfaces in SketchUp.

Please install the attached jps_beziersurf.rb file in your Plugins directory and if everything goes well, you should see the “Draw Bezier Surface” menu item under Plugins the next time you launch SketchUp.
Clicking on it should draw a default Bezier surface near the origin.
To edit a surface, select the surface and choose “Edit Bezier Surface” in the Right Mouse Button context menu which should show the surface’s 16 control points.
Moving any of the 16 control points will affect the resultant Bezier surface.

Please provide as much feedback as possible regarding the code, issues/bugs you see or ways to improve the tool/interface etc.

Also, do let me know if you feel the tool is useful and if it is worth spending time trying to enhance it, draw any kind of Nonuniform Rational B-Splines(NURBS) surface etc.

Thanks a lot!
Jacob

I get the following error on the mac su2014. The extension doesn’t seem to work at all for me. I think there is a problem with your use of model.materials on line 98.

Error: # IndexError: index 0 out of range [0, 0)> .../Plugins/jps_beziersurf.rb:98:in `[]' .../Plugins/jps_beziersurf.rb:98:in `addTrianglesToModel' .../Plugins/jps_beziersurf.rb:131:in `activate' .../Plugins/jps_beziersurf.rb:323:in `select_tool' .../Plugins/jps_beziersurf.rb:323:in `block in ' -e:1:in `call'

~bryce

jps_beziersurf.rb (9.6 KB)

Hi Bryce,

Thanks a lot for the quick reply.
I don’t have a Mac and so it is great that you can test it for me on yours and it is really nice of you to point me to the problematic code.
I have now removed the use of model.materials as it was optional anyway.