BugSplat when I work with (intersect) any 3D Warehouse object

Hello all. This is my first post here, so I hope I’m in the right spot.

I want to start out by saying that I’ve “solved” this issue, in that I’ve identified what I believe to be the cause of the issue. (Scroll down for solution) I know how to avoid it in the future.

This post is meant to inform A) people who may have the same issue as me, and B) people who may have the ability to fix this issue. I’m not sure if “fix” is the right word, since I understand the bug is caused by my poor use of the program. However, as a developer myself, I think it’s fair to say that my misinformed use of the program should cause a warning (or something) rather than a crash + bugsplat. So, imo this should be fixed.

What’s the issue?

I try to intersect faces between a sink and a countertop, but this causes a bugsplat.
I’ve tried intersecting many things with many other things, and so far the issue seems to appear if and only if I use a (any) 3DWarehouse model.

The counter, countertop, object (sink, cube) are all distinct objects.

My process

1. Select object (eg sink, cube)
  2. Move object so it occupies same space as counter/countertop
  3. Explode counter
  4. Select counter + object, make new component
  5. Go into component edit on counter
  6. Explode countertop
  7. Select object → intersect with model
  8. Explode the countertop
  9. Intersect with model

Result

1. Popup dialog reports there are no intersections (which there clearly are)
  2. Program does nothing. Sits until I click somewhere.
  3. Crash, bugsplat.

What have I tried?

Delete sink, import new sink, intersect
Same issue.
Create new counter (just a cube) import new sink, intersect
Same issue
Move sink to a different counter on a different layer, intersect
Same issue
Create a cube, intersect with countertop
Works as expected
Download a small random 3DWarehouse object, intersect
Same issue
Create 2 new cubes, make them components, intersect.