Best way to rotate/stretch a face with API?

I’m a complete novice with Ruby and the Sketchup API, and I’m looking for a sensible way to extend the end of an I-beam, but chopped at an angle. e.g., from red to green:

I could use Transformation.rotation() on the end face, but that wouldn’t extend the top edge of the green beam out along the same line as the red.

I have a horrible solution (that works) using a Transformation.translation() along the line… of 5 separate edges :grimacing: and calculating 6 different distances. There must be a better way?!

ridgey = height*Math.tan(angle)*Math.cos(angle)
ridgez = height*Math.tan(angle)*Math.sin(angle)
tr = Geom::Transformation.translation(Geom::Vector3d.new(0,ridgey.mm,ridgez.mm))
entities.transform_entities(tr, entities[20])
ridgey = (height-45)*Math.tan(angle)*Math.cos(angle)
ridgez = (height-45)*Math.tan(angle)*Math.sin(angle)
tr = Geom::Transformation.translation(Geom::Vector3d.new(0,ridgey.mm,ridgez.mm))
entities.transform_entities(tr, entities[17])
entities.transform_entities(tr, entities[21])
ridgey = 45*Math.tan(angle)*Math.cos(angle)
ridgez = 45*Math.tan(angle)*Math.sin(angle)
entities.transform_entities(tr, entities[15])
entities.transform_entities(tr, entities[23])

(I’m using SketchUp 2013, if that makes a difference)

Many thanks

I’d make a plane for the new end face (see overview of Geom module.)

Then use each edge object’s #line() method to get an array of lines to intersect with the plane.

See Geom::intersect_line_plane module method.

Something like (untested):

# assume var "plane" was set using a point
#  on the plane and it's normal vector,
# and var "edges" is an array of the horizontal edge objects

lines = edges.map {|e| e.line }
new_points = lines.map {|line| Geom.intersect_line_plane(line, plane) }

vecs = []
verts = []

new_points.each_with_index {|pt,i|
  verts << edges[i].end
  vecs << edges[i].end.position.vector_to(pt)
}

ents = edges[0].parent
ents.transform_by_vectors( verts, vecs )