Best Way to Measure Irregular Pool

Hi, I am new here and to Sketchup. I have done 4 of the beginner videos and am starting to feel comfortable with the program. I am wanting to convert my empty swimming pool to a garden pool - a small pond with fish, ducks and aquaponics. Unfortunately, it is very irregular and since I am not an engineer or anything, I am not sure the best way to get measurements for imputing into Sketchup. I tried to find my home in Google Earth because I was thinking perhaps that would be useful, but the trees completely cover the view of the pool. I was next thinking of marking the pool in increments of 1 foot all the way around and then measuring from point to points, but that seems tedious and I am not sure if that would work. Any suggestions? I attached some photos to show what I am starting with. Thanks…

is there not a set of plans for the pool somewhere?

john

Well, you seem to need some images taken from directly above the pool. I’ve taken some pics with a camera on a 25 foot “gopher pole” (an electrician’s fishing tool). Or maybe you know someone with a photo drone. Lastly, you could take some pics from a ladder looking straight down and stitch them together, never tried this one however.
Shep

I don’t know…they weren’t given to us when we bought the house 16 years ago :frowning:

Is that the only way to do this? I also realized that the bottom contouring is going to be problematic. I feel that this is way beyond me comfort zone! Ah well, I will keep working on it.

Assuming you are only need it to be roughly approximate for planning purposes.
I would mark straight lines of specific lengths and angles down the center of the pool. Then use that as a known point to determine the various center points of the arcs that form the shape. That should give you a radius for each curve and you should be able to fill in the shapes in between.