AR mode outdoors at 1:1 scale (Is model geo-referenced?)

Greetings,

I’ve been using SketchUp on and off for years. I’m new to the web version, though; and I also decided to purchase the mobile viewer to see if it might work for some visualizations I have in mind.

I tried it out today without much success. My aim was to depict a proposed bridge onsite at the planned location. However, despite having added a location in SU and aligned the model to it, the model is not oriented or located properly in AR mode.

I just assumed that the model was georeferenced and would simply appear in place and at scale when I used the AR viewer onsite. I mean, my phone knows where I am and which direction I’m facing, so it’s unclear why the model doesn’t just appear at the proper location and orientation - or at least reasonably close such that only fine tuning would be required.

That’s not what happened, however, and after nearly an hour of fiddling with trying to get it into position, I gave up. Am I misunderstanding or perhaps overlooking something?

Thanks for any info or insights you can provide!

It would be a nice feature request!
The way it is now, it’s not implemented.
You need to have a surface to put it on, and then place and scale it.

What you want is implemented in Trimble SiteVision, but that’s a different ballgame ($)

Thanks for the reply, Mike!

Oi! That looks sweet! But I don’t need that level of accuracy for my nonprofessional use. The GPS and compass would work well enough it seems - even if I had to nudge the model a few meters into place.

Speaking of positioning the model, is there a limit to how far it can be moved after being anchored to the surface? I was trying to position the model about 20 meters away, across the street. It just wasn’t cooperating. Using the street as the surface and then choosing 1:1 as the scale was simple enough, but trying to position it was an exercise in frustration. :frowning_face: