Animated Virtual Neighborhood?

Hi, I’m making a virtual neighborhood for a school project and want it to be animated so I can include icons over it that signal a need for community service/urban planning and was wondering what the best way to go about with it since I am still a beginner with this.
Thanks

1 Like

If I were doing this, I’d start with a site plan of the neighborhood and use this as a basis for push pulling the various buildings into 3d. Then adjust the building heights and model the roof configurations as needed. Add detail to the vertical faces by additional modeling or by adding photo textures. Provide desired entourage elements such as roadways, trees and shrubbery, vehicles, people, signage, etc.
Remember to model all raw geometric elements on Layer 0.
Assign groups (and components) to specific layers created to control visibility so you can turn layers off or leave them on.
Create scenes to illustrate your virtual neighborhood and develop your animation.

You can get more pointed instruction if the skp file is uploaded with your request.

2 Likes

Thank you so much. If you don’t mind, could you be more specific about the whole layer concept? It seems really important to getting this done, but I’m just not grasping it.

1 Like

It is useful to understand how to use layers. In SU, layers are used primarily to control what is seen and what is not seen (visibility). This is unlike the concept of layers as used in AutoCad and other cadd programs. The videos I am referencing provide more information than I can offer in words here.
Here is the link to the definitive SU video on layers:

and here is the link to the SU video on scenes including how to set them up and how to use them efficiently:

I highly recommend that you take the time to review all of the SketchUp
tutorials for beginners which can be found here: