Absolute beginner lost trying to build arcade need help

hi can anyone help me. I am a compete novice with my own money I am trying to make a game for deprived kids. (email grace@jeely.org.uk if you would like to confirm this) I paid for and downloaded plans from thegeekpub.com to make a raspberry pie arcade game. The plans are incomplete unless you can use Sketchup. I have a file but cant figure out how to get the free version of the sketchup onto my desktop. It seems to be an online file and if thats the case I cant figure out how to upload the file to it?

any good samaritan i assure you it is for a good cause.

kind regards,

Martin

Maybe you can get away with the (not updated anymore) free desktop version SketchUp Make 2017 ( not for commercial use though ). The download page is mentioned regularly on this forum.

Unity is one of the best game engines for developing games and it’s free, unless you’re making over $100,000 a year from games. Then you have to buy the pro version.

Unity can make 2D arcade games too. SketchUp is a 3D modeling program and you can transfer those models into Unity for your game.

If you paid for plans for an arcade game, then it might be copyrighted. So it might be a bad idea to upload it publicly.

Is there anything specific you need help with or just finishing the game? Maybe you can make a similar one from scratch. There’s a commercial and collaborative work category in this forum, so you could look for someone to hire or help for free.

Best of luck! You’re doing a really nice thing. I’d love to hear more detail about your plans.

Thank you Dan.

hi Forestr,

its the frame within the cladding that isn’t clear to me. It seems it would be simple to give those dimensions (even a birdseye view) but they are omitted.

feel like a deer in headlights!!

kind regards,

Martin

If you import the images, then you could trace them.